Birthdays

Well, it was my birthday on the 9th of Feb, and my Mum's on the 10th. so on the arvo of the 10th, my folks and their Japanese Exchange Student Tatsuya (pronounced Tatsia) come up for a barbecue, which was really nice.

I gave Mum a Yellow Water Lily for her new goldfish pond near her verandah. I was furnished with 11 Red Wine Glasses by my sister, 6 small china bowls from mum and dad, a goldfish in a carafe from my sister, a book of SuDoku from my brother, The Dark Mirror by Juliet Marillier and a 1GB Flash Drive from Tatsuya and his family, and from C I received Terry Pratchett's Carpe Jugulum (Starring Granny Weatherwax, Nanny Ogg, Magrat Garlick, and The Vampires) quite a productive birthday. with the only problem being finding places to store the glasses and bowls. That, and the goldfish died before we got back from a friends on the evening of the 10th. poor 'Illiam. The name stems from a long series of things, but basically centres around the fact that the Japanese can't say the 'W' sound. the were going to name the poor thing "Whateveryouwannacallit" which got twisted to something resembling "oddie(…)" which, with my family being Goodies Fans, lead them to Bill, but the real name for Bill is William, which Tatsuya can't say, so it is now 'Illiam. Except that he's dead. Poor Illiam.

and right now, I'm rather bored, I might go look @ Vox's QotD or something…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “Birthdays

  1. If you want to try out
    something new in sudoku, try shendoku, using the sudoku rules but playing two
    people, one against the other, like battleshipps. They have a free version to
    download at http://www.shendoku.com/sample.pdf
    . Anything else they are bringing out or they are working on you can find at http://www.shendoku.com or at they´r blog http://www.shendoku.blogspot.com . Have
    fun, I am. I specially like one slogan I heard about Shendoku: SUDOKU is like
    masturbation (on your own)…. SHENDOKU is like sex (it takes two).

Leave a Reply

