QotD: That’s Just Cruel

What's the weirdest baby name you've ever heard (or considered)?

Well… I read "Conraception" in a baby book once… I'll give you a hint, its meaning is only one letter away from its spelling… that's right, name your baby "Conraception" and you're naming it Contraception. What sicko calls their baby Contraception, I mean really… Unloved Kid Syndrome much?

a friend of a friend called her daughter Sugarplum, or was it honeyapple… it was a sugary fruit, I know that…

one horrible instance is I know a woman who called her son Vanessa.  Absolutely, I agree with the principle of abolishing sexism in all forms (that's a girl's name is still sexist), but to actually call a boy Vanessa? unmerciful teasing would have to result. In fact, the boy has now shortened his name to Van, and I have to say I don't blame him.  Parents need to be careful about using their children to further their own beliefs, either in this, or in pushing their children to do something with public repercussions, etc (yes, I'm thinking of the Horbucks Coffee Episode of South Park because I can't think of a real-world example at the moment).

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

