QotD: [this is home]

Where do you consider home?  Is it the place you grew up; the place you're currently living?  Why is it home?
Submitted by uncagedbird

it's the place I grew up, the place I currently live, -and- it's the place I use as a base-of-operations here in town, it's also in my car.

I consider them all my home simultaneously, in a weird way.

my base-of-ops is home, it's a place where I can sit down and do whatever I want (within reason) without really needing to ask permission.  It's assumed that if I want something there, I'll acquire it, so the offer is only made if they're getting the same thing (ie coffee). 

The place I live is home.  It's where I go at the end of uni, it's where hubby and I live together, it's a place I had a hand in designing and building.

The place I grew up from age 12 is home, my parents are there, it is indeed where I grew up, and there is a part of me anchored there quite possibly for eternity.

My car is home, and that sounds really strange, even as I type it. But it's true. My car plays my music and is adorned by my stuff, and people may not like what I put in there at times, but it's -my- space.  Enter at your own risk.  I spend 10 hours a week or more in there, so I need it to be home.

Home isn't necessarily one geographic location.  Home are the places that are extensions of yourself in one way or another. They are the places that you find sanctuary in, and they are the places where you belong. Home isn't just a building.  Home isn't an area defined by state boundaries. Home is where you are you, and that's all there is, you don't need to wear masks at home, you don't need to put on a front.  Home is an extension of yourself that is too big to cover up and hide.

Can you be at home in someone else's house? You bet.  Is it as easy as the oft-used statement "Make yourself at home" implies? nowhere near.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

