Make your bills disappear!

Here's how I turned a $480 phone bill into $15 credit! Now that I have your attention, our simple system… um, actually, I'll give you the real info.  We all remember the Telstra Phone Saga? yes? good.  And we know that we finally have ADSL? excellent.  Well… we got a phone bill yesterday, from Telstra.  And I took a look.  It was Sizeable.  ($480 is Sizeable, I think) I wasn't quite expecting that amount.  So I looked at it.  I read it reasonably carefully.  and I found 5 problems with the account for this month alone. 

So: Step 1, find mistakes in your bill.

I called our Case Manager, Gloria.  Well, no, I attempted to call our case manager Gloria on the Telstra "Ring us direct if you already have a complaint lodged with us" number.  It connected, told me there is a longer than average queue, and that if I could hold, that would be wonderful, and if not, please call back on the next business day.  Well, I tried to hold, twice, and as soon as the recording stopped, I got the characteristic BEEP BEEP BEEP of being hung up on.
So I called the general Billing Complaints number.  I did that 4 times in an hour because at random intervals, I'd just hear "beep beep" usually when I suspect that I was about to be put on hold.

Step 2: get hung up on a few times

finally, I was connected to a consultant who did not hang up on me.  in fact, I was on the line for the entire duration of my call. (well duh, but you know what I mean)  I explained to her The Saga and the new stuff that happened today and  the problems with today's bill.

Step 3 (easy): convince the consultant you're sick of Telstra

finally, the whole process may take 2 hours, but a pay rate of $245/hr is pretty good, imho
step 4: have a glass of wine. (may be enacted concurrently with 1-3)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “Make your bills disappear!

  1. Eeep. This reminds me of the never ending phone call when I tried to cancel AOL a few years ago. I ended up having to cancel my debit card the AOL was billed to because they refused to cancel me. But still, you're right, I'd hang on the line that long to save that much $$ too!

  2. In the aftermath & debriefing at a friend's place, (who's also going through Telstra Woes) she went through the bill to find what I'd found, and then I noticed that they were billing me for messagebank. BASTARDS. I only signed up to it because I was told that it was free with another service I was willing to pay for. It's not like we *use* the bloody thing.If there is even *one* cent wrong on the next telstra bill (besides the messagebank thing), We are going to pay them an exit fee of around $330 for the broadband contract, and we are going to switch to someone else for everything except our mobiles. (because as much as we hate them, they're the only telco with decent network coverage here in Tas)

Leave a Reply

