Vox Hunt: Making the Band

Show us an instrument you know how to play.

Hmmm….

I can play a few:

Upright_piano
Trumpet
Recorder
Madonna
Guitar

I learned to play the Piano until about grade 4, then just played it for personal enjoyment.  I can usually eventually nut out the pieces that I want to play.  In grade 6 I played Keyboard for the Burnie Learners Band when our regular pianist was not available.  I kept playing that until I left the band in grade 6.  I can still play when I feel so inclined, but not as well as I used to.  No more sight-reading for me.

I was in a band called EMUsicians, it was for the best musicians in the NorthWest in grades 5 and 6.  I can't remember what I played for the audition, I suspect it was the Recorder though.

This is the first instrument that I officially learned.  I started playing in grade one or so when I met my best friend throughout primary school, Tim.  He played it, and was really good.  I learned to play quite proficiently and was playing flute music on the recorder with the Burnie Learners Band.  (This is quite a feat, by the way, the finger-work for high notes in rapid succession is nasty)  I left the recorder behind after playing the trumpet with EMUsicians in grade 5.

Yep! I can play Madonna like a recorder!
Actually, no.  I sing, and this is probably the best picture I can find of that.
When I went to church I was typically called upon out of the "choir" of 5-8 to sing solos.

I've left the guitar till last because I can't play it very well at all, and never did play it very well at all.  I can get a few songs happening on it at least.  I don't have one any more, so I never got around to perfecting it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

