Baketastic! (take 3)

Today (and indeed, every day this week) I've been baking Candy Cane Swirls, a tasty meringue-based recipe which has impressed pretty much everyone who's tried it.

TFC, I hope you can find some non-alcohol-based peppermint essence


Ingredients – for 40 swirls
2 Egg Whites
1/2 Cup Caster Sugar (TFC – Seriously, Caster, not Brown – just FYI)
1/4 tsp Peppermint Essence
Red food colouring
10 mini Candy Canes, Crushed
Candy Canes in ScaleIMG_0229

The Candy Canes I used with a measuring tape so you can guess about the amount.  Also, how fine I smash it up.

Method
Preheat oven to 100/120C (fan forced/not)
Line large trays with baking paper
Beat eggs to soft peaks, add caster sugar and beat (using electric beater) for another 8-10 minutes add the peppermint essence.  It'll look like this:


Now prepare your piping bag:
fit with the 6-point flute
take a bamboo skewer dipped in the red food colouring – and draw it from one of the flute-points up the side of the piping bag.  repeat for each flutepoint.
fill the bag with meringue mix.
pipe 3cm swirls on to the trays

Sprinkle with the candy canes

Bake for 40 minutes.  DO NOT remove from the oven until completely cooled. (They'll crack)  cool with the door ajar.

For the record, I tried making some red&green ones (because they're more christmassy)  Not a good plan – the green and red dyes mix and turn… brown.  seriously unappetising – trust me.

I think I'm going to have to try some more cooking with Essences.  and maybe even embedding chocolate in them… I have some ideas now about meringues.

Make heaps, they're pretty popular.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

6 thoughts on “Baketastic! (take 3)

  1. I skimmed through this post in the morning before work and laughed when I saw the "caster, not brown" part. Hehehe. You know me too well. It's frankly pretty frightening. 😛 These look SO yummy. Never would have thought about incorporating candy canes into…well, anything! I'd usually have one on its own. Not that I ever finish it. They look so tempting in the package but after I've had three bites I'm done. And the rest is left in the fridge until I notice it…months later. Eep. Which is why I find this recipe very appealing indeed. It's a way to finish up the candy canes and I'm definitely trying it. Thank you for posting it! P.S. I haven't made the chocolate almond slice yet as I haven't had a lot of time or disposable money lately. But! Nutella was on sale last week. It was $1.95 for a 220g tub. Nutella never goes on sale so I bought two. Hehe.

  2. There's nothing public to connect you to baketastic on your vox, so yes, I am serious. Baketastic the word cannot be copyrighted. I'm not confusing your brandings because the recipe is for meringues and I'm not selling anything, while your baketastic is cupcakes.No.I'm not changing it. I arrived at the title myself as a combination of baking and fantastic.

  3. Heather, do you mean 'copyrighted' or 'trade marked'. You can't copyright a word. You can, however, trademark one. You need to register it as a trademark in order to prevent rival businesses from committing trade mark infringement. As Dylan is not a rival business and I can't find 'Baketastic' at IP Australia (the country Dylan is blogging from) I really don't think you have a legal case to ask him to remove his blog title. If you know differently please feel free to post the legal advice you've received or cite the information you retrieved it from.

Leave a Reply

