Baketastic Biscuits!

1. Dear Heather.  Still not registered in Australia, so screw you.

2. I've been baking Chocolate Biscuits!

3/4 Cup Caster Sugar
185g Butter
1 tsp vanilla essence
1 Egg
2 Cups Plain Flour
1/4 cup cocoa

Preheat oven to 180 C
Beat Sugar, Butter & Essence until light, and creamy
Beat in the egg
Sift the Flour and Cocoa over the top and stir in with a wooden spoon.

Once it's all mixed in nicely, you've got options.

You could roll it out and cut it or, if you're like me and don't have a cookie cutter.  (plans to remedy that, btw) Roll the mixture into balls like so:

Flatten them with a fork:

Sorry, couldn't help myself there… teehee
Ahem, they'll wind up like this:

Bake 'em in the oven for 10-12 minutes and put them on a wire rack to cool immediately after they're cooked.

I'm in the process of experimenting with different icings to put on to make "sandwiches" out of them.  I tried to do a turkish delight version last night, but Rosewater essence doesn't work for that, unfortunately.  I'm thinking maybe orange?  But they're really nice as is too.

Enjoy!

TFC – I haven't tried brown sugar in these – let me know if it's worthwhile ๐Ÿ˜‰

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

6 thoughts on “Baketastic Biscuits!

  1. 1. Yeah, Heather, screw you!2. I've had no luck with cookies ever, but this does look simple. Plus it uses essence – this recipe is halal! ๐Ÿ˜€ And forking the balls looks fun. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I'll be sure to try it with brown sugar, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I've always just used essence instead of extract anyway – I have essences coming out of my ears. You've never had luck with cookies? But you cook the most awesome stuff! Handy Hint: Use an electric beater to cream the butter and sugar.

  3. You guys are fancy with your essences. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    When I read the title I was totally picturing a biscuit – like the breakfast food that McDonalds so expertly turns into sandwiches? haha. I was thinking that would be interesting to have a chocolate one!
    I'm such a Yank. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. I'm confused – the only thing Maccy D's turns into anything remotely "sandwich-y" are their McMuffins. (unless your menus are different to ours – they call everything "burgers" here… or it might be your/our labelling laws) And after looking it up, (thanks wikipedia) you'd be talking about their Muffins. A sweet chocolate one of those (minus the bacon, sausage, egg and cheese) would probably be really nice… I've made chocolate scones before and they were tasty!

Leave a Reply

